When You Free-Fall Without A Parachute… Or So It Seems

Hey Everyone! Wow, it’s been just over a month since we last spoke. I promise I’m trying to get better at letting you know what’s happening in our lives, however I also don’t just want to write you and say, “Yeah, so Dan and I slept till 1pm..” (This actually happens more often than I care to admit). So  I try to wait, and then sometimes it takes  a while for something interesting to happen, so here it is.. over a month and now I have two cool things to tell you about…. maybe more if my brain functions and I think of them. 😉

The first major thing I should probably inform you of, is that Ironwoman is no more. This is because I was having terrible skin reactions to the adhesive bandages as they were simply flushing the line waiting for my Lyme culture to be done. These reactions are so bad, that I actually have some scars from them, it actually freaked Dan out and now I don’t really care because I know I needed that PICC line, but it is a little weird looking. The thought process is now that if necessary, I can simply have another Ironwoman (yes, that is what I call these things because “PICC line” freaks me out when I know what they do) put in (JOY!..) if my doctor deems it necessary. I wouldn’t be shocked if later on I have another Ironwoman, but part of me does somewhat hope not to. She is a pain and I am a rare soul who can feel her in my body and more strangely, feel the medication go into my heart. Those are feelings, I do not miss.

Although, I must admit I have had some interesting symptoms since we’ve stopped all the medication. Don’t worry, I’m keeping track of all the quirks my body is experiencing, but some of them really are strange. I think the one that freaked me out the most at first was the day my heart decided to start hurting. Don’t worry- I’ve had it checked out and apparently my heart is fine, it just randomly hurts. All in the fun that is Lyme, I guess. 🙂

Anyway, on to the fun parts of life. 🙂 A couple weeks ago, Dan and I had a very special guest- Kevin, come to visit. Kevin is one of my best friends from college and has since become a great friend to Dan. Since he had some training for his job in Washington, D.C. he spent the weekend with us here in P.A. It was simply wonderful to see him and we got to really enjoy spending time with him. On Saturday, while Dan did homework, Kevin and I went to a local winery and then to a distillery for lunch. It was a blast! It was great to catch up like old times and then on Sunday, Dan and Kevin hit the internet for a while with a couple other people to play some games (being the boys). So needless to say, it was a wonderful time.

Other than that, life around here has been pretty quiet. We are simply waiting for the results from my Lyme culture and in reality it feels like waiting for forever, even though it’s only been about a week so far. We’re not really sure what is going to happen next, but we’re trusting that the Lord has me and our situation in His hands and that He will use this in some way for His glory. Dan and I are doing well overall and are simply taking everything as it comes. Thank you to all who have been praying for us as we simply wait for answers during this time. I promise to do my best to keep you up to date as things happen, just know that not much happens around here- just a lot of sleeping and resting. Currently, a lot of knitting and Gilmore Girls (yes, I’m excited for the “A Year in the Life” coming out on Netflix in November) 🙂 For those of you praying, please continue to pray for perseverance for us. This has been a long, hard road and it doesn’t seem to be ending anytime soon. However, we will continue to walk this path trusting that God has the best plan for us. Sending all our love.

Until Next Time,

De

Leave a comment