Making a “Home”.

Hey everyone! Sorry it’s been almost a week since I’ve posted. Not much has happened this week, except… WE GOT AN APARTMENT!!! That’s right, we actually have our first place as husband and wife AND we actually get to live together *insert gasps here*. Can you believe it?!?! It’s only taken 9+ months of marriage to finally be able to live together. LOL, it’s one of the many “perks” of being a military spouse- our married life won’t look normal until Dan retires… which will be a while. πŸ™‚ Anyway, yes… we have an apartment and a car (I’ll get to that), so while we haven’t been able to go out into town much, we are making strides on the home front.

So our new home is small, but we will fit perfectly into it. Unfortunately there are no photos (yet) since I don’t want to show everyone the government temporary furniture and our stuff just on the floor (it’s just not pretty). However let me give you an idea, Dan and I sat on the sofa that the Navy provided for us while we wait for our things to arrive… we went out and bought the couch and love seat we’ll need (it was the 2 things I couldn’t get before moving) the very same day. Yeah, it’s that uncomfortable. Monday they’ll deliver the couch and love set combo, and Dan and I simply can’t wait.

I’m not really sure when our things will be here. The Navy says it could take till December 18th (pray that’s not true.. I don’t have truly warm winter clothes with me…) but everyone else is saying that it will probably be here sooner than that. But who really knows? Dan and I are simply making the best with the temporary furniture and home supplies that the Fleet and Family Support Center lends out (and it’s not a lot….). Needless to say, since we’re limited on cookware right now, we don’t have a lot of food, even though our kitchen has a tremendous amount of storage space. Hopefully once we truly get moved in, I’ll have a better grasp on what we need and can fit into our kitchen. πŸ™‚

While our home is truly a work in progress, there are other things I can tell you about too. πŸ™‚ Dan and I bought folding Japanese bikes! Once we get bags for them, we’ll be able to carry them on the train system and use them when we travel the country. They’re also really great around base to get around (a lot of people walk and bike, even if it is a bit slower it’s better for the environment). I am loving all the exercise I get from biking everywhere, however it can be tough when it is rainy or a windy/cold day. Yet, I’m thankful because it is still a LOT faster than walking everywhere :).

Today though, Dan and I bought a car! It’s a blue Honda Civic and to me it sorta looks like a giant jelly bean. It has low milage and we bought it from a guy who had to PSC FAST (this week), so we got a steal. It’s four door and has plenty of room- so to our friends and family who plan to visit, we’ll have room for you and luggage :). Hopefully soon I’ll have photos of the car posted (hopefully we’ll be able to give it a bath first). It is a huge blessing, especially for Dan since it means he won’t have to leave quite as early to arrive to work on time, he’ll be there in a matter of minutes now. So it truly is exciting.

Anyway, that’s basically what we’ve been up to this week. Getting *somewhat* settled and getting everything together in our new home. We love you all and we’ll be sure to keep you posted. Please continue to pray for us as we are embarking on this crazy adventure.

Leave a comment