Weekend Wanderings

Hey everyone! I’m sorry that this post is a little late- the past couple of days have been super busy for Dan and I with his work and my mundane (annoying) chores/errands. However, I FINALLY have time to tell you what Dan and I got to do this past weekend. We went back to see Odawara Castle and we went to Yokosuka Naval Base- but I’ll explain both. 🙂 Saturday we got up and went to the train station, determined to go to Odawara Castle. If you remember, we have been that way before- but we missed going in by 15 minutes. Not this time! We made it! While it wasn’t what we expected, it was a lot of culture to absorb. For starters, you had to walk across a bridge to get onto the Castle grounds, because naturally there was a mote around it. I’m just going to go ahead and say that for the first time in my life, fairytales and historical stories make more sense to me now. However, once we reached the bottom of the castle grounds, I was breathless (no not from running across the bridge) because of the stonework and the woodwork that went into making the entrance, just WOW. Words can’t adequately explain how big it is- just know it was BIG and the fact that the castle was built hundreds of years ago and then restored 100 years ago, but is still this impressive… it just makes my head spin (in a good way). The culture here is so rich and deep and my mind has a hard time grasping it all, I simply want to soak everything in, but as you’ll hear later on (I’m getting there I swear!) there’s so much to digest that I just have to accept that it will just take time. Anyway, we walked around the grounds. There was a band competition going on (we think) so it was pretty busy. However, we had to walk around and through a second gate. Then we saw the crowds – oh the crowds. I don’t think I’ll ever get used to it. then we walked up steps- there were a LOT of steps. I mean a LOT and they were BIG. People, I had to take a step before I could step up half the time. However, the beauty of the grounds was amazing. We found a replica (small) and Dan and I got our photo taken in front of it. Then before long we made the LONG trek up the steps (seriously like the 4 set) to get into the caste. It was steep and set up really high- we could see the mountains and the ocean and that was just from the entrance! Inside, we expected to see how they lived when the castle was in use. However, it was just a museum. Unfortunately we couldn’t take any photos. However, what was displayed was overwhelming. In some ways it would remind you of a Native American Tribe but not quite the same. They’ve always had a unique flare and art form they use for things. However, as we looked that the exhibits we could see when the European influence entered their culture and then ultimately the American culture. I simply love that they adapt things from other cultures to help enhance their own however they never loose sight of their culture and traditions. It is truly a unique opportunity to be able to live and be apart of this refreshingly unique new world. Anyway, after walking through the 5 flights we finally arrived at the top. It was totally worth the journey! The view was simply incredible (see photos below) and we spent at least 20 minutes just soaking it all in. I can see where a former emperor would be able to see his entire kingdom- it was overwhelmingly beautiful.

The gardens at the BOTTOM of the castle.
The gardens at the BOTTOM of the castle.

DSC_0589DSC_0611

Getting ready to go up into the castle. Look at how high up it is!
Getting ready to go up into the castle. Look at how high up it is!
A map of the grounds.
A map of the grounds.
Dan and I at the top of Odawara Castle!
Dan and I at the top of Odawara Castle!
Some of the grounds. Told you it was simply beautiful here... and this isn't even a fraction of the beauty the castle and the grounds had to offer.
Some of the grounds. Told you it was simply beautiful here… and this isn’t even a fraction of the beauty the castle and the grounds had to offer.

Once we were done looking around the Castle. We started making our way back to base. On the stop home we stopped at a few shops, including a consignment shop that sells video games, videos, and books. It was really amazing, although we couldn’t read much- it was all in Japanese! Before long it was getting dark and I was getting cold, so Dan and I told the guys we were with that we would see them later and started making our way back to base. However, on our walk back (we weren’t far) I saw a sign for a 100yen store and asked to go see it. The store was above the grocery store/ bakery/Baskin Robins. So we took the escalator to find a 100yen store, a clothing store, a tailor, AND a convent store! All in one general space! Looking around we loved the 100yen store. It was sorta like a dollar store but with more options and some really interesting things. Dan got a screwdriver (which didn’t work for putting the feet on our new couches- oops) and I got a hair clip (that I can’t seem to understand how to make it stay secure). But it was a fun adventure. Then I decided to see the clothing store and Dan said he was going to see the grocery store. It was then that I learned something very valuable for living here: I CAN FIT INTO JAPANESE CLOTHING!!! If you’ve ever lived overseas,you’ll understand what a big deal this is. If you haven’t, most American’s have trouble fitting into the clothes here- and yes I live on a base that has American Apparel but most of the time it’s a small selection or of brands I’m not used to or don’t really like- so basically my options here just expanded! Then Dan called me. He found gold. Ok not literal gold, but close enough. The grocery store. Oh that grocery store- and it’s not far away.. can we just celebrate that for a minute? Anyway, they have ready-made meals but they’re all FRESH!!! And you know how in school you’re taught that foods that are good for you are on the outside of the grocery store- the perimeter of the store, right? Well the perimeter is BIGGER than the middle! Our minds were BLOWN! All the produce and meat and dairy- all so fresh, and you knew it was fresh (especially the fish)! It was like heaven! We actually bought some food (rice, veggies, meats, sauce) because we want to start trying to cook like the locals (Seriously, I’m loving Japanese cuisine! *insert your gasps here*). Then we bought some stuff from the bakery and went home to cook our food (we sorta messed up, but it was a good try and we learned some different tricks for next time). That was Saturday. So on Sunday I slept- hard. Every once in a while since we’ve gotten here I’ve had mornings where I can’t physically get up out of bed. I am so exhausted that my body just won’t do it- no matter how hard I try. (If you have ANY idea why that’s happening- please comment or e-mail me or something!) Anyway, it took a while for me to be able to physically get up out of bed. But since it was our 6 year dating anniversary, Dan and I decided to go to Yokosuka to go shopping on the base there (they have A LOT more than we do). It took us about an hour to get there and then another 30 minutes of walking to get to where we wanted to be. However, we finally got what we were in search of: a roomba! Both of us hate doing the floors, and here they get dirty so fast (seriously, wives have told me they have to clean their floors daily!) we decided to invest. Once we did that we were starving so we went to dinner at Chilis. It was wonderful and RIGHT on the water! Once we were done we went and did some more window shopping- mouths gaping open as we looked at what they have (seriously, compared to our base- it was beyond impressive). Then we headed back home to relax and enjoy our night together. So there you have it! We had a really busy weekend. And so far this week, it’s been just as crazy. I have officially signed up to volunteer at the Red Cross here on base while I begin searching for a job. So please be praying that the Lord gives me a job and soon- I’m going to loose my mind in this little apartment if I don’t have something to keep me busy. Also, be praying that Dan and I stay strong in our faith- we are doing really well, however we are still in a Buddhist country- which isn’t something we’re used to. We love you all. Thank you for your prayers, the notes, cards, Facebook messages, comments, ect. They mean more to us than you will ever understand. We love you all and we love sharing our grand adventure with you all!

Leave a comment